How do I disable AutoComplete Password Storage?



The AutoComplete feature for passwords, URLs (web addresses) or usernames seems like a fine idea to make your browsing faster but it is also a huge security risk. If someone uses your computer they will be able to access your personal data with ease if you do not make sure that your ID’s do not pop up automatically.

  1. In an Internet Explorer browser window, click on Tools.
  2. Click on Internet Options.
  3. On the Internet Options configuration console, click the Content tab.
  4. In the AutoComplete section, click on the Settings button

You can select or de-select different types of information to store in AutoComplete:

  • Address Bar stores Browsing History, Favourites, Feeds and Windows Search. If any of these options are checked they will automatically try to complete the next time you begin to type.
  • Forms stores data such as your address, phone number, credit card information and populate form fields so you don’t have to re-type the same information every time you fill a form, if these options are checked.
  • User names and passwords on forms stores the usernames and passwords for sites you visit and automatically enters them when you visit the site again, if this options is checked.
  • Ask me before saving passwords is a sub-option so that Internet Explorer will prompt you each time rather than automatically saving passwords. You can use this if you want to use the feature, but not save passwords for more sensitive sites such as your bank account.

You can turn off AutoComplete entirely by de-selecting each box.

Note: Even if you turn off AutoComplete, or just the option to save user names and passwords in AutoComplete, the passwords that have already been stored will remain. In order to clear the Browsing History that has gone before:

  • Click on the General tab
  • Click the Delete button in the Browser History section to get rid of stored passwords.
  • You could also check Delete browsing history on exit if you want this to be done automatically. This option deletes tempory files, history, cookies, saved passwords and web form information each time you close your browser.

 

Posted in: Internet Security